Celebrating 20 Years as an Access Validating Agency

18th March 2016 Date of publication

One Awards recently celebrated 20 years as an Access Validating Agency at a magnificent event held at The Sage, Gateshead on 11th March 2016.

We were delighted to have as speakers John Widdowson CBE, President of the Association of Colleges and Principal and Chief Executive at New College Durham, Dan Reed a former Access to HE Student and David Hughes CEO of The Learning and Work Institute.  All three spoke about the importance of the Access to HE Diploma and how this 'educational product' has touched many hundreds of thousands of individual lives - both within our own region and throughout the length and breadth of the country.


    John Widdowson CBE                     Dan Reed                  David Hughes

The event put learners and educators involved with Access to HE at the heart of the proceedings with 25 individuals and groups receiving awards for outstanding achievement.

Student Awards were presented by Louise Morritt, Chief Executive at One Awards and John Widdowson CBE.

Keith Fletcher Awards

The following 4 learners were all selected as regional runners up in the National Access to HE Award

Keith Fletcher Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement

Winner - Ian Carr                                           Runner-up - Rachael Johnson                  

Keith Fletcher Award for Outstanding Commitment to Study


 Winner - Lauren Rossall                             Runner-up  - Sharon Taylor Watson

One Awards Access to HE Awards

Access to HE Student Achievement in Higher Education Award - sponsored by Teesside University

Winner - Louisa Storey

Higher Learning, Higher Earning Award - sponsored by The Association of Colleges

Winner - Christopher Chicken

Access to HE Student Award for Peer Support - sponsored by Sintons Law

Winner - Gemma Cullen

The Access to HE Provider Awards were presented by Louise Morritt and David Hughes.

Outstanding Commitment to Quality Improvement

Winner - Stockton Riverside College


Highly Commended - Middlesbrough College

Innovation in Access to HE 

Winner - Middlesbrough College

Outstanding Commitment to the Student Experience


Joint Winner - Sunderland College                                                        

Joint Winner - Tyne Metropolitan College

Highly Commended - Gateshead College

Students' Choice Award - sponsored by Publicity Seekers


Joint Winner - Michelle Kelso,                     Joint Winner - Monica Pizzoli, 
Redcar & Cleveland College                            Sunderland College

The Higher Education Award was presented by Louise Morritt  and Julie Farmer, Head of Access to HE at The Quality Assurance Agency (QAA)

Higher Education Award for Engagement in Access to HE - sponsored by Portico

Winner - University of Sunderland

Special Commendations - Significant Contribution to the Strategic Development of Access to HE 

presented by David Hall, Chair, One Awards Board of Trustees


Harry Cunningham                             Harry Davison                          Lesley Griffin


Nigel Harrett on behalf          Kathy Dunn                              Minna Ireland
of Dave Duell

Special Commendations - Commitment to Access to HE

presented by David Hall, Chair, One Awards Board of Trustees

Pictured left to right - David Hall, Patricia Oswald, Jennie Lawson on behalf of Sue Scheilling and John Strowger

We would like to congratulate our Award Winners again and thank everyone who attended or contributed to the celebration.


Back to News