Celebration of Achievement at Hartlepool College of Further Education

28th November 2019 Date of publication

Hartlepool College of Further Education’s top-performing students were recognised at a glittering awards evening. The College's 26th annual Celebration of Achievement awards ceremony hosted at the College on Thursday, November 21st, with a total of 43 students being nominated and 21 overall award winners as well as celebrating 50 years of providing education and training to Hartlepool at our Stockton Street campus.

The main award of the evening, Student of the Year 2019, went to Gemma McIver presented by Principal and Chief Executive Darren Hankey and Chair of Governors Professor Aiden Mullan (pictured right), who earlier in the evening also scooped the Access to HE Student of the Year Award. The double-award winning Gemma was recognised for her outstanding academic and practical performance. 


One Awards were represented by Access to HE Manager, John Earland who presented Gemma with her Access to HE Student of the Year Award (pictured far left). Gemma achieved the Access to Health programme with a distinction grade profile on the back of an outstanding attendance record, whilst caring for members of her family. She has now progressed to Teesside University to follow an Adult Nursing degree.

Back to News